[Home | Mail Archive | Join the mail archive | Photo Gallery ]

Mazda Rotary Pickup Forum
you are logged in as
profile | register | faq | search (active threads) | memberlist
Sponsored by:
Index > Interior > Thread: tach
Thread: tach
Slinky


Revvin Up
Posts: 56
posted March 05, 2013 02:00 PM

tach

stock tach in my truck doesnt work, so i am connecting a sunpro for the time being until i can get the stock one working.

question, can anyone tell me what color the ignition switch power wire is on the column? i need to know the color code so ic an splice a wire in for the tach and for my cd player... if anyone has maybe a picture aswell just so i know im getting the right wire, it would help a lot!


thanks!

       
View IP (Administrators only)
dhood


Hauling
Posts: 133
posted March 05, 2013 02:13 PM

Try shotgun soldering the whole tach before splicing wires. Old enough to have a corroded solder point. Post your year REPU so others might know what wire color is.

       
View IP (Administrators only)
Slinky


Revvin Up
Posts: 56
posted March 06, 2013 02:40 AM

quote:
Try shotgun soldering the whole tach before splicing wires. Old enough to have a corroded solder point. Post your year REPU so others might know what wire color is.


i don't really have the time or the energy to pull the guage cluster right now. the only working gauge i have right now is the speedo and and aftermarket coolent gauge.

the previous owner has already done SO much hacking into the wiring that splicing into it really doesn't bother me at all. it's going to be getting a whole new harness at the end of spring when i do the motor swap. i'm just trying to get a temporary tach for the time.

btw, it's a 74

       
View IP (Administrators only)
jm1fd


Revvin Up
Posts: 83
posted March 06, 2013 04:15 AM

quote:
question, can anyone tell me what color the ignition switch power wire is on the column? i need to know the color code so ic an splice a wire in for the tach and for my cd player... if anyone has maybe a picture aswell just so i know im getting the right wire, it would help a lot!



http://lmgtfy.com/?q=repu+wiring+diagrams


       
View IP (Administrators only)
eldudo


1st Gear
Posts: 25
posted March 06, 2013 06:16 AM

I have the same problem with my '77, I need to pull the gauge cluster and resolder everything. I think I too will end up with a new harness in the near future though.

       
View IP (Administrators only)
Slinky


Revvin Up
Posts: 56
posted March 06, 2013 02:00 PM
Edited By: Slinky on 6 Mar 2013 14:03

quote:
quote:
question, can anyone tell me what color the ignition switch power wire is on the column? i need to know the color code so ic an splice a wire in for the tach and for my cd player... if anyone has maybe a picture aswell just so i know im getting the right wire, it would help a lot!



http://lmgtfy.com/?q=repu+wiring+diagrams




no need for the smart ass (let me google that for you) b/s. i have already brought up factory wiring diagrams. i just wanted to know if someone can post a pic of there actualy wiring/plug to the ignition so i can not only comfirm that the harness has not been tampered with, but i am splicing into the correct wire. the old owner molested the hell out of the wiring

if you wanna actually help out, that would be great....

       
View IP (Administrators only)
jm1fd


Revvin Up
Posts: 83
posted March 06, 2013 03:55 PM

quote:

no need for the smart ass (let me google that for you) b/s. i have already brought up factory wiring diagrams. i just wanted to know if someone can post a pic of there actualy wiring/plug to the ignition so i can not only comfirm that the harness has not been tampered with, but i am splicing into the correct wire. the old owner molested the hell out of the wiring

if you wanna actually help out, that would be great....


If you don't trust the wiring diagrams, a picture of somebody's truck that shows the same thing as the wiring diagrams isn't going to help either. Also, you need to post a model year with this sort of inquiry because the wiring on the trucks changed from year to year.

Time to bust out the voltmeter, it seems.

Also, be sure and use a fuse of the correct size. Previous owner of my truck put in some massively oversized fuses which caused a small fire in the dash. They also removed the fuse for the windshield wipers which caused some of the wiring for that to get smoked as well.

       
View IP (Administrators only)
Slinky


Revvin Up
Posts: 56
posted March 07, 2013 03:28 AM

quote:
you need to post a model year with this sort of inquiry because the wiring on the trucks changed from year to year.


i did, its a 74

quote:

Time to bust out the voltmeter, it seems.

agree'd. driving it out to my shop this weekend to do some electrical shakedowns...

quote:

Also, be sure and use a fuse of the correct size


going over and replacing every fuse when we do the shakedown. scored a service manual for this thing today and it shows the factory fuse sizes in the fuseblock/locations. gonna need to pick up a few in line's just in case

       
View IP (Administrators only)
All times are PST (US)
Post New Topic    Post New Reply
Rate Topic:
Powerd By: BlazeBoard

[Home | Mail Archive | Join the mail archive | Photo Gallery ]
0.087751865386963 seconds processing time